February 7, 2023

With Graham Arnold leading the Socceroos to their fifth successive World Cup appearance, Australia’s odyssey to Qatar came to a conclusion. Since 2006, the country has been involved in tournaments that have brought its contingent to South America, Africa, and Europe. Now, Graham Arnold’s team is poised to take advantage of a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to play in an international competition in the Middle East and savour the unique culture of the Arab world.


How Did Australia Qualify? 

After finishing third in Asia Group B behind Saudi Arabia and Japan, the Socceroos were forced to make the cut the hard way. As a result, they had to beat the UAE before moving on to a dramatic intercontinental playoff against Peru. Australia’s World Cup qualification campaign included a total of 20 games, with 16 of those games taking place away from home.

After the game finished in a 0-0 tie with Peru, Arnold’s squad had to resort to penalty shootouts to determine the winner. It was their dancing backup goalie Andrew Redmayne who ended up being the final icon, as he saved the last kick to help his team win 5-4. In the tiebreaker, the almost Arsenal signee Redmayne entered the fray with three minutes remaining and quickly rose to the occasion as a hero thanks to his zany actions in an attempt to confuse the opposing penalty takers.

A Little Bit of World Cup History 

Australia has a long and rich history in the field of sports. They’ve won several global titles in various sports, but their involvement in football’s most prestigious tournament, the FIFA World Cup, has been somewhat limited. They have competed in the finals of this major tournament six times, twice in Germany (1974 and 2006), once in South Africa (2010), once in Brazil (2014), once in Russia (2018), and now in Qatar (2022).

See also  Netball in chaos as Hancock pulls $15m partnership: Netball Australia

Australia’s path to the World Cup has never been easy. The nation did not compete in the World Cup qualifying between 1930 and 1962. In 1966, Australia made its maiden effort where the team had to go off against North Korea, which was a contentious matchup since North Korea was a political body that was not recognised by many countries, including the United Kingdom.

Despite its checkered past, Australian football is on the rise, spurred by significant appearances in all of the World Cup finals since 2006.

Australia’s Qatar 2022 World Cup Group

The triumph of the Socceroos in the play-offs ensures that they will compete in Group D at Qatar 2022, with all three initial matches to be played at the Al Janoub Stadium. It is safe to assume that the Socceroos are up for a thrilling ride in yet another group of death, in which they will be competing alongside the reigning champions France and then going up against Kadri’s Tunisia. After that, they’ll face up against Denmark for the final game. 

4th in the global FIFA rankings, France will be difficult to beat even if they haven’t performed as well as they did after winning the World Cup in 2018. According to several online betting sites, Denmark and Tunisia are expected to pose a serious threat to Group D. Christian Eriksen will be hoping for a triumphant return to the world stage, while a number of Tunisian players will view this as an opportunity to exhibit their skills to people from all over the world.

See also  Alcaraz wins US Open, becomes youngest world number one since rankings started

When Is The World Cup On?

The drama will officially begin on Monday, November 21st when Senegal takes on the Netherlands in a Group A clash. Doha will host the grand final on December 19th. On Wednesday, November 23rd, at 6 a.m. (AEST), Australia takes on France in its opening match of the campaign.